Freezer Friendly, Meals

Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef

I made this super easy slow cooker mongolian beef the other night, and boy, do I wish there were a way of transmitting fragrances via the Internet. There’s just no way to describe how good my house smelled while this was simmering in the slow cooker, and the resulting dish tasted just as great: tender meat with a slightly sweet, very slightly spicy taste (and a hint of Chinese five spice). We all loved it; the kids couldn’t get enough of the meat. It doesn’t get much easier, either — serve over steamed rice or (as I did) Japanese ramen noodles, with a veggie on the side, and dinner’s done!

Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef

Ingredients

  • 1 pound flank steak, cut into bite-size strips
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 3 large green onions, sliced diagonally into 1/2 inch pieces**
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced fresh ginger root*
  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce

*I didn’t have this on hand, so I omitted it, but I don’t think the resulting dish suffered for it.

**I saved some of the green parts of the onions to use as garnish.

Instructions

Place flank steak and cornstarch into a resealable plastic bag. Shake the bag to evenly coat the flank steak with the cornstarch. Allow to steak rest for 10 minutes.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook and stir steak until evenly browned, 2 to 4 minutes. Place onion, garlic, flank steak, green onions, soy sauce, water, brown sugar, ginger, and hoisin sauce in a slow cooker.

Mongolian beef ingredients, ready to simmer in slow cooker

Cook on low setting for about 4 hours. When it’s done, ladle over steamed rice or noodles and serve with a vegetable on the side. If desired, sprinkle some green onion sections on top of the beef, and dinner’s served. Yum!

Slow cooker mongolian beef - an easy, delicious dinner

Yes, it does taste as good as it looks!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef

  1. Yum, Bev. Looks delish!!

    Posted by Goddess in Progress | November 13, 2011, 5:42 pm
  2. This looks really yummy! I’ll try making this this week! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Posted by Tomomi Shimomura | November 13, 2011, 6:35 pm
    • I just made this and it’s now cooking in the slow cooker. Already smells really good!! I’m looking forward to dinner~~ ^_^

      Posted by Tomomi Shimomura | November 16, 2011, 10:08 am
      • Yay! Let me know how it turns out. 🙂 As we type, I’m making slow cooker carnitas for soft tacos tonight, and BBQ pork sandwiches tomorrow. I’ll post about it sometime later in the week or early next week. Can’t get enough of slow cooker recipes this time of year.

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | November 16, 2011, 10:35 am
  3. I’m going to have to try this! Looks delish, but more importantly, easy 🙂

    Posted by Audrey | November 13, 2011, 6:43 pm
  4. This might be my favorite Beverly dish!!! So yummy!!!!

    Posted by Maria Victoria Roth | November 13, 2011, 7:59 pm
    • Aww, thank you! I think you may be thinking of a similar noodle dish I’ve made for you before, since this was the first time I’ve used this particular recipe. But, I’ll take the accolades (and really, the main difference is in the cooking method, so you’re not far off at all!). 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | November 13, 2011, 8:09 pm
  5. now I want to get a slow cooker!

    Posted by redapple333 | November 14, 2011, 5:20 pm
  6. I have this in my crockpot right now and can’t wait until supper time!

    Posted by Anna | November 23, 2011, 11:38 am
  7. I made this for my parents, they were impressed!

    Posted by Michelle | January 24, 2012, 6:12 pm
  8. I made this dish previously and it came out great! I am more than doubling the amt of meat this time (almost 2 1/2 lbs). Do you know how this will affect the cooking time?

    Posted by Evette | February 12, 2012, 4:49 am
    • Evette, I don’t think you’ll need to do anything with the cooking time. The original amount of meat is so small; 2.5 lbs is still small for a slow cooker, and it’s sliced so thin that I’m sure it will be fine. If you have time, you might want to go 6 hours, but I think you’ll be Ok with the original cooking time. Enjoy! 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | February 12, 2012, 2:53 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: “Hon, Did You Get Take-Out?” « Cooking, Crafting & Chaos - February 29, 2012

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: The Spring Break Edition | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog - March 31, 2015

Leave a Reply

Saucy Mommy
