Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: DIY Bento

My four-year-old, Jack, loves to help me cook. Whenever we have a “do-it-yourself” meal (e.g., assembling our own pizzas, burgers or lettuce wraps), he’s happy as can be. So, I decided to make him a “DIY bento,” where he can make his own sandwiches. As you’ll see, this lunch was very easy to throw together.

The bottom layer of his two-tier bento box from Old Navy contains two halves of a Hawaiian sandwich bun. Between the bun halves, I wedged two silicone muffin cups. The top one has cheddar cheese slices cut into a “4” shape — my mom got me number cookie cutters last week (so fun!). The bottom cup has strips of dry salami (I just tore five salami rounds in half) arranged around a homegrown cherry tomato. To fill in the “ears” of the bento box, I threw in the last of the cherry tomatoes from our garden.

The top tier of the bento box is a fruit salad: clementine wedges going diagonally down the middle, pears on the upper left side, and strawberries on the lower right side. I included an animal pick so his hands don’t get all sticky.

And there you have it: A cute lunch assembled in under 15 minutes. Score!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: DIY Bento

  1. This is so cute! Like a Lunchable, but better. I personally love salami sandwiches on hawaiian rolls, with cheddar cheese and pickle slices. Yum!

    Posted by Jennifer Harsany Simpson | November 9, 2011, 2:52 pm
  2. My first grader has “healthy snack day” every Thursday in her class- I would love to try this for her- how do you keep the pears from browning? Lemon juice?

    Posted by Julie K | November 16, 2011, 12:00 pm
    • So happy you’re going to try it! 🙂 I actually haven’t had a problem with the pears browning, even after a whole day. My theory is that because the top tier of the box is so shallow, the pears don’t get exposed to much oxygen. If you’re concerned, then yes, I think a brushing of lemon juice will prevent browning!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | November 16, 2011, 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

