Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Under the Sea Bento Box

Yesterday, my mom made us a huge batch of delicious fried rice with shrimp, ham, diced asparagus and scrambled egg. I have to say, it’s awesome to have my mom living fewer than three miles away. Not only does she often bring amazing food to us, but she also comes over every weekday around dinnertime to help me keep order and clean up so I can make it to tutoring on time (my husband doesn’t usually get home from work until after 8 p.m.). Thank goodness for moms! Anyway, this is somewhat macabre, but as I was crunching down on a shrimp, I realized that I had all the tools on hand to make an ocean-themed bento box for Jack. So, after the boys went to bed, I made this (packed in an Easy Lunchbox) for Jack to take to school today:

In the large compartment on the left, we have hot dog octopi and crabs floating in a sea of my mom’s homemade fried rice. I cut the octopi and crabs based on this simple tutorial (uses an entire hot dog … no waste!) and drew the expressions with (what else?) food markers.

The upper right hand compartment (aka Big Fish in a Small Pond … I crack myself up!) has a peanut-butter filled sandwich ball that I pressed into half of a fish-shaped hardboiled egg mold. I then colored in the details with food markers and set the sandwich among Goldfish crackers. I got the fabulous idea to shape sandwich balls from this Family Fresh Meals blog entry. Such an ingenious idea! One that I never would have thought of on my own — I love the way other people think ;).

Finally, the lower right hand compartment features a starfish (a slice of Asian pear that I cut with a star-shaped cookie cutter) resting on grape pebbles.

I don’t often do totally themed bentos, but this one just kind of fell together. Jack loved it when he saw it this morning. I hope he ate all of it!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Under the Sea Bento Box

  1. Thanks for the shout out Saucy Mommy! Love this bento!

    Posted by Corey | November 7, 2011, 2:28 pm
  2. Super CUTE! Thanks for participating at Bento Blog Network.

    Posted by Diana | November 7, 2011, 4:02 pm
  3. I love those little crabs! Definitely doing those!

    Posted by Crystal's Ramblings | November 7, 2011, 7:44 pm
  4. This is so fun and colorful! Love it – Just pinned it 🙂

    Posted by Kelly Lester (EasyLunchboxes) | November 16, 2011, 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

