Meals

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

For whatever reason, breakfast is the weak link at our house. Growing up, I ate breakfast every morning, but since graduating from college, I’ve rarely eaten it. I’m just not that hungry in the morning, even when I work out, and all I want is a caffeine kick. Skipping breakfast doesn’t affect my mood (I’m a morning person, anyway) or make me eat more later in the day, but I realize that it’s not wise to skip it for various reasons. Of course, I feed the kids breakfast, but I must admit that it’s pretty slapdash on weekday mornings: a sippy cup of milk, a snack cup of Cheerios, a banana and a cheese stick. Johnny is left to fend for himself. On Sundays, I tend to make a special brunch because no one has to get to work or school, but the other days, breakfasts are pretty shameful, especially compared to what I do for lunch and dinner. So, I always welcome convenient, healthy and delicious weekday breakfast ideas.

A couple of weeks ago, I came across just such a recipe on Wendolonia: pumpkin pie oatmeal. Not only did it look wonderful and perfect for autumn, but it also seemed like it’d be quick to make. This morning, I tried it, and it lived up to all my expectations! Johnny and the boys liked it, too. I made it slightly differently than Wendy did, just because I only had steel cut oats, not traditional oats, on hand. I think this might be even better with traditional oats, as in the original recipe, but it was great with the steel cut oats, too. Here’s what I did to make enough for two generous adult servings:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Irish steel-cut oats
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • A little more than 1 cup of water (I used a skosh less than 1 and 1/4 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • A couple of liberal dashes of pumpkin pie spice
  • Milk, if desired
  • Slivered almonds, if desired

Instructions

  1. Bring the water to a boil, then put the oats and pumpkin into the boiling water. Cook for 5-7 minutes, or as directed on the package.
  2. Stir in the brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice, turn off the heat, and ladle into bowls. If desired, swirl in some milk for extra creaminess, and top with another sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice and a few slivered almonds.

Yum! Thanks very much for the idea, Wendy! This will be a new fall favorite.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

  1. So glad you liked this! I’ve made it nearly every morning for the last few weeks.

    Posted by Wendy | November 3, 2011, 2:46 pm
  2. Looks so delicious! I’ll definitely be making this.

    Posted by Erin | November 4, 2011, 10:20 am
  3. I love pumpkin and this looks yummy! Keep up the great posts:)

    Posted by redapple333 | November 4, 2011, 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

