Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Tuesday’s Bento Box

Jack’s staying at school for lunch tomorrow, and I’m tutoring tonight and working out in the morning, so I decided to make his lunch this afternoon to save time. I think it’s a pretty cute one, if I do say so myself. Jack asked to see it, and when I showed it to him, he gasped and jumped with delight. If my most important critic likes it, that’s all that matters. 🙂 I packed this lunch in a Sistema lunch cube, which opens up into two sides.

The left side of the box contains a peanut butter and jelly ghost sandwich. I made it by cutting ghost shapes (one each) out of a slice of wheat bread and a slice of white bread. Then, I swapped the white and wheat ghost shapes so that the white one peeked out of the wheat bread. I used my Americolor food markers to draw the ghost’s face.

The right side is divided into two sections. The section on the left has a fruit salad of diced persimmons and halved grapes, topped with bear and penguin faces (complete with expressions) cut out of Asian pear slices and fruit leather. The section on the right holds a heart-shaped silicone muffin cup with a hard-boiled egg molded to look like a car, and salami slices that have been folded into fourths and threaded onto Halloween cupcake picks.

I didn’t think there was a real theme, but when Jack finished oohing and ahhing over the bento box, he said, “It’s like Halloween! There’s a ghost, and zombie animals, and [pause] a scary car!” I’m not sure how he knows about zombies (my husband and I are huge fans of The Walking Dead — both the graphic novel and the TV show, but we’ve never watched it in front of him!. I guess four-year-olds discuss zombies on the playground?), but hey, I’m happy to have accidentally made a themed lunch.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Tuesday’s Bento Box

  1. How do you do that with the eggs!

    Posted by Chantel Hisko | October 24, 2011, 4:46 pm
  2. You are really awesome, I wish I was half as creative as you when it comes to food. Just wanted to ask, does Jack really eat all that food!?!

    Posted by Tina | October 25, 2011, 7:06 am
  3. Thank you, Tina! I just steal others’ ideas, and yes, he really does eat all that!

    Posted by Saucy Mommy | October 25, 2011, 7:36 am

Leave a Reply

