Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Saturday’s Bento Boxes

This afternoon, I made the boys’ bento boxes for tomorrow. I spend Saturdays tutoring (from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.; whew!), so I like to make lunches ahead of time to make my husband’s day a little easier and, more importantly, to bring a smile to Jack and Derek’s faces. This weekend, Johnny’s actually going out of town, so I’m sure our sitter will appreciate the convenience of pre-made lunches.

The two bentos have almost exactly the same contents, but I’ll show you both anyway. Here are the top tiers — peanut butter and jelly sandwiches shaped with this maple leaf cutter; a colby jack cheese stick and a string cheese cut into cubes; and an adorable animal pick to use as a fork. My mom got me the picks in Taiwan, but the ones I linked to are very similar. I drew veins on the “leaves” with food markers. I know, I know, I’m not a very good artist!

The bottom tiers hold cooked hot dogs that have been cut into sections and halved lengthwise; a little container with ketchup for dipping; clementine orange wedges in a silicone muffin cup, arranged to look like a flower with a cherry tomato center (an idea I took from Wendolonia); and apple “fries” in another silicone muffin cup.

I hope you all have great weekends! I’ll be posting about at least one of the culinary delights I’m planning to make.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

