Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Halloween-Themed Bento Box

My four-year-old son, Jack, goes to preschool five mornings a week. Before the school year started, he asked if he could stay for lunch one day a week so that he could play more with his best friend, who is in the extended day program. I agreed, and now I have the pleasure of making a cute bento-style lunch for him each week. He loves it and always gobbles up every bite, even if the lunch contains foods that he doesn’t always eat at home (e.g., hard-boiled eggs, rice balls, chicken drumsticks). I’m taking advantage of this enthusiasm while I can — I know that before too long, Jack will be too cool for cutesy lunches.

This week, I made a Halloween-themed lunch, heavily inspired by the Halloween bento boxes featured on Wendolonia. I used the two-tiered froggy bento box from Old Navy — a steal at $5 (correction: now reduced to $3 for certain styles)!

Top tier: two black cat sandwiches and a ghost sandwich, decorated with food-safe markers, and home-grown cherry tomatoes.

Bottom tier: diced persimmon and mozzarella cheese cubes (I just sliced a cheese stick) on Halloween-themed cupcake picks, a hard-boiled egg molded into a car shape (I used these molds) held in a silicone muffin cup, salami roll-ups and a peeled clementine orange decorated to look like a jack-o-lantern with food markers. I also used disposable baran sheets to keep the foods separate from each other, since the salami is kind of oily. After taking the picture, I laid the orange down flat in the box and wrapped the egg cup with plastic wrap to prevent egg smell from infiltrating the entire lunch.

Top tier of Jack's bento box - black cat and ghost sandwiches, home-grown tomatoes

Bottom tier of Jack’s bento box – diced persimmon and mozzarella cheese on Halloween picks, hard-boiled egg shaped like a car, clementine “Jack-o-Lantern,” salami roll-ups
I’d love to see some of your Halloween-themed lunch creations!
 
About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Halloween-Themed Bento Box

  1. I love your ghost sandwich! Hecka cute! Actually, the whole lunch is adorable.

    Posted by Wendy | October 14, 2011, 9:27 pm
    • Awww, thank you SO MUCH for commenting! You have no idea how flattered I am that you even came here. A friend of mine told me about your blog when I started to get into bento-ing, and I’ve since read just about every entry in your Bentos category, and I eagerly look forward to Fridays to see new bento pics on your site. I’m going to unveil this blog next week (still working on my avatar), but as you can see, I’m pretty close to getting everything set up. I’ve been telling a lot of other moms about your site. Thanks again for your comment and all your ideas, which I use liberally. 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | October 14, 2011, 9:33 pm
  2. Thanks for participating at Bento Blog Network! Voting for your 5 favorite Halloween bentos has been enabled for today & tomorrow. I’ve also added your blog to the blog roll on the sidebar.

    Posted by Diana | November 2, 2011, 12:17 pm
  3. Don’t be too sure that he will get too cool… my 15 year old loves them! lol

    Posted by Misty | October 4, 2013, 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

