Desserts, Holidays, Snacks

Bunny Pretzels

It’s March, which means it’s officially time to begin testing Easter recipes! Although I don’t attach the emotional significance to Easter that I do to Christmas, there isn’t a better opportunity to make adorable food. In the age of Pinterest, there’s truly no limit to the number of great ideas and recipes, so consider yourselves warned: the next few weeks may be Easter overload! :)

First up are some bunny pretzels from The Sugar Buzz Pantry. My friend Heang alerted me to them, and I almost had a paroxysm over the cuteness. These are made by filling twist pretzels with melted candy coating, then drawing expressions on with food markers. (Note: Do NOT use Wilton brand food markers, widely available at craft stores, on candy coating. They don’t work on anything oil-based, and chocolate and candy coating are both oil-based. Americolor ones work well.) I had everything on hand for the bunny ones, so I decided to try them (will make the chick ones when I buy yellow candy melts). Update: I made the chick ones yesterday; they’re even cuter, if you can believe that!

Mine didn’t turn out as well as the original ones, but I chalk that up to my inability to draw cute bunny faces. Also, I’m not sure what happened, but although my Americolor markers worked really well on my Halloween and Christmas cake pops, they kept petering out on these! The black one worked best, but I had to repeatedly dab the other colors on a dry paper towel to make the ink come out. I did some research, and it looks like I should let the pretzels cool for several hours before drawing on the candy coating — I didn’t have to do this for the cake pops, but next time I’ll wait longer before decorating. I also need more practice filling in the pretzels so the surface is smooth, but for the first attempt, I was happy with the results. These are a fun project to do with kids, too.

Bunny Pretzels

Ingredients

  • Twist pretzels
  • White candy melts (available at craft stores)
  • Food markers (once again, NOT Wilton ones)
  • Wax paper or silicone mat (like Silpat)
  • Small spoon

Instructions

Lay the pretzels on your wax paper or silicone mat. Melt the candy coating in a microwave-safe bowl, according to package instructions, then use the spoon to fill the pretzels with the melted candy. You can fill just the three holes, leaving the pretzel exposed as borders, or have the candy cover the whole pretzel surface. I opted for the latter because it was difficult to get the candy to stay within the small pretzel holes (it would probably be easier to fill just the holes with a disposable piping bag).

Let the pretzels cool for 15 minutes (the longer, the better — the food markers seem to work better on candy coating that’s very well hardened). Then, draw the bunny ears and faces with the food markers.

Voila! Bunny pretzels! Next week, I’ll try to fine-tune these and make the chick ones. Happy weekend, everyone!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “Bunny Pretzels

  1. These are so so cute! What a fun Easter snack :D

    Posted by Jenn | March 2, 2012, 9:25 pm

Leave a Reply

