Freezer Friendly, Meals

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

I’ll admit it: I love sweet and sour chicken. As much as I cringe to think of standard takeout fare representing true Chinese food (which is wonderfully varied and embraces many different spices, flavors, meats, vegetables and cooking styles), it is also something I enjoy. Sometimes, I just get a hankering for a carton of sweet and sour chicken, and nothing else will do. I guess it’s akin to a Mexican food aficionado relishing the occasional Del Taco fix.

Anyway, I was intrigued by this pin last week — it’s for a baked sweet and sour chicken recipe. I loved the recipe’s simplicity, as well as the fact that the chicken wasn’t deep-fried. After a friend vouched for how good the recipe is, I decided to give it a whirl. Guys, it is really good! It tastes just like takeout, except it’s not as greasy or heavy. The only thing I regret is using chicken thigh meat instead of chicken breast, as the recipe called for — I only deviated from the recipe because I happened to have some boneless thigh fillets to use up, but no chicken breast. I think the dryness of chicken breast is actually a good thing for this recipe; it would help the coating stick on better. Mine kind of slid around a bit. But, even so, the boys gobbled it all up. I served it with steamed rice and sauteed baby bok choy. Yum! If you’re a fan of sweet and sour chicken, I encourage you to make this (slightly) healthier version.

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

Ingredients

For the chicken and coating:

  • 3-4 boneless chicken breasts
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup canola oil

For the sweet and sour sauce:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Cut the chicken breasts into cubes, then season with salt and pepper. Coat the chicken with the cornstarch (I put the cornstarch into a gallon ziploc bag, then put in the chicken pieces and shook it all together to coat the chicken), then dip the starched chicken pieces into the eggs.

Heat the oil in a large skillet, then cook the chicken until it’s browned, but not cooked through. Place the chicken in a 9×13 greased baking dish.¬†Mix all of the sweet and sour sauce ingredients in a bowl with a whisk, and then pour evenly over the chicken.

Whisked sweet and sour sauce

Put the baking dish into the oven and bake for one hour. During the hour, turn the chicken pieces every 15 minutes. Rather than turning the individual pieces of chicken, I just used a wooden spoon to stir up the chicken every 15 minutes, making sure most of them turned. After an hour, remove from the oven and serve!

This goes really well with steamed rice and baby bok choy

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

  1. Looks so delicious! I will have to try this very soon! xoxo

    Posted by redapple333 | January 19, 2012, 3:14 pm
  2. Looks like i have another new recipe to try! This looks amazing!

    Posted by Kelly | January 19, 2012, 6:01 pm
  3. Thanks for sharing. I will be trying this recipe for sure. Sounds delicious.

    Posted by foodventuresandotherstories | January 22, 2012, 7:54 pm
  4. I’m going to make this tonight for dinner! It just looks too yummy not to try it out!! :D
    Thanks for always giving us great ideas for mealtime. (btw I made Italian sausage soup last night)

    Posted by Tomomi Shimomura | January 24, 2012, 12:34 pm
  5. Hi Saucy Mom! I am actually Michelle Cronen’s Sister. I just want to tell you that I LOVE your sweet and sour chicken!! I am in the process of making it right now.. this is the 3rd or 4th time I have made it! It has become something I do almost once a week! My husband and I just love it! Thanks for sharing this one =)

    Kristen

    Posted by Kristen | March 9, 2012, 1:34 pm
    • Not sure what happened to my comment, but here it is again. I just made this for dinner and it was AWESOME. I served it with vegetable fried rice. I would suggest lining the pan with foil to make clean-up easier. I will be making this again.

      Posted by Jayne | September 3, 2012, 3:25 pm
      • Thank you for your comment! I’m so very glad you liked it. It’s one of my favorites, too. :) Yes, lining the pan with foil is a great idea. I did that the second time I made it, and appreciated the reduction in clean-up for sure.

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | September 5, 2012, 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

